City Color Cosmetics | r e v i e w |

image

image

image

After picking up a bunch things from City Color Cosmetics, I found that I really enjoy using their face powder products! This Sunkissed Trio in shade Natural Nude, is definitely worth picking up. I purchased all of these products at FiveBelow in Long Island, NY. Hence, everything I got was $5 or less. The lightest shade in this trio is my current favorite highlighting powder to set my Buxom Illuminator. It gives a stunning sheen that isn’t too overpowering, and it isnt at all chunky. The deeper bronze shade is great to use as a blush topper or shimmer bronze if that tickles your fancy. Personally, it’s not my cup of tea so I prefer using it over a blush. The peach shade makes a very nice, natural blush.  It isn’t quite a shimmer, but it does have a tasteful sheen!

image

image

Mosaic Blushes by City Colors are quite nice. Pictured here are the shades Coral Glow & Bronze Glow. Though these products have the tendency to be a bit powdery with a heavy hand, the product itself applies beautifully. These blushes have a nice sheen when it catches the light. Since it is composed of 3 colors per blush, you can easily customize the color you’d like to apply!

image

image

City Color’s Sunlight Trio Blush Highlight & Bronzer in Collection 2 is pretty. The consistency is a bit more powdery than the Mosaic Blushes, but it is still quite manageable. The golden shade provides a bold highlight for those days you’re feeling shimmery. The light coral shade makes for a nice matte blush. On my particular skintone, it is not as flattering; maybe when my skin gets a bit lighter in the winter season. However, on light skin tones, I’d definitely recommend this blush. The bronzer is a warm, rich brown with intense shimmer.

image

image

The Be Matte Blushes are my absolute loves! From left to right, top to bottom, shades Papaya, Blood Orange, and Toasted Coconut are to die for. Of all their cheek products, these are my favorite. From the sleek packaging to the texture and color, I cannot say enough good things about it.

image

image

image

Not only does City Colors have great cheek products, but their Barely Exposed Eye Shadow Palette has a great range of neutral shades. As you can see from the above swatches, the shimmer shades are quite strong versus the two matte shades in the palette. Personally, I’d prefer to have more matte shadows to work with in a palette with 12 shades for some versatility, however the shimmer and glitter shades are so pigmented that I can overlook that one con. I would definitely recommend using a primer underneath these shadows because there can be a bit of fall out. The tones I believe City Color is going for with this product is one similar to that of the Urban Decay Naked Palette. It comes with a sponge tip applicator that I would not use with these shadows at all, but it does come in handy if you’d like to smudge your lower lash line!

image

image

All summer, I’ve become quite fond of highlighting, liquid illuminators particularly. The Glowing Complexion Illuminating Cream by City Color is a light champagne color with a neutral undertone. This is the first liquid highlighter that I’ve tried with a scent, a light baby powder scent, which personally, I don’t mind at all. I found that when I applied it directly on my cheekbones over foundation, it came out a bit patchy when using a brush. However, it works a lot better using a damp makeup sponge (I use the RealTechniques Miracle Complexion Blending Sponge, I think that’s the name of it). Mixing it in with foundation works nicely as well.

image

image

Lastly, following the liquid lipstick craze, I decided to try out the Creamy Lip Stain in shades Blackberry Mojito & Flirtini. Overall, after having so many better liquid lipsticks, I would not repurchase these. The scent is ever so slightly perfumed with a bit of a citrus scent but still has a tinge of plastic. Though the colors are nice, it remains tacky after it sets on your lips. The applicator makes it easy to apply, but it doesn’t quite leave an even stain. On the up side, the color of the product does resemble the color of the tube itself.

Overall I would, hands down, recommend the cheek products. The price of all City Color Cosmetics is affordable; you can purchase it online at their website or select retailers though it may be hit or miss. FiveBelow does not carry their products all year round. I hope you find this quick review & swatches helpful! Be on the lookout for my upcoming posts💕💋

xo.

One thought on “City Color Cosmetics | r e v i e w |

Leave a Reply

