Back to School | w h a t s i n m y b a g |

With summer coming to an end, many of us will be heading back to school. If you know me personally, you know that I am a big bag user; I’ve gotten the Mary Poppins superlative for a reason. Anything you could ever possibly need is in all of my bags, but with school, I try to carry the bare minimum so I don’t throw my back out. So I want to share with you the essentials I have with me to get through long days with class and work, plus a lengthy commute.

Of my many bags is the lovely Kate Spade All Leather Backpack. Received as a gift, this originally priced bag at $375 can be purchased at Kate Spade Outlet Stores. Depending where you buy it, the discount varies. I love the narrow base so I don’t feel it ride up my back if it isn’t packed to the brim. It is a great size and very trendy. Thanks to its simple color scheme and design, it is extremely neutral whilst complimenting any outfit. Because of it’s slim structure, it makes it really convenient on my commute around NYC. Lord knows how packed those trains get during rush hour!

image

It is always handy to carry a plastic folder with some paper to keep things orderly. If you don’t feel like carrying heavy books, or you carry an iPad with you to take notes, this is a good option so that there’s no need for a notebook. I prefer plastic folders over paper because it wont wilt or tear. My planner I keep with me every single day; this 2015 planner is from Muji, along with my fine point pen.

image

Onto the main reason how I hold everything I could ever need — an emergency pouch that I transfer between bags. Since everything is nice and compact in a pouch, I know that I’ll never leave something out when switching bags. Travel sized items make it easy to hold everything:

Makeup Bag @ Sephora–

  • Dryel stain removing pen
  • Cortizone Intense Healing Cream (if you’re prone to mosquito bites like me and need some relief)
  • Contact solution
  • Visine eye drops (great if you have allergies)
  • Travalo perfume dispenser
  • Off! Mosquito repellant
  • Mouthwash
  • Toothbrush & Toothpaste
  • Cough Drops
  • 4 Compartment Pill Box — Tylenol, Ibuprofen, Benadryl & Allegra, VitaminC
  • Hand Lotion
  • Bandaids
  • Alcohol Pads
  • Scissors, Needle & Thread
  • Safety Pins
  • Hair ties
  • Lip Balm
  • Bacitracin ointment
  • Double sided fashion tape
  • Nail filer
  • Pads / Liners / Tampons
  • Backup Panties (God forbid!)

image

After vacation, I have the tendency to wear even less makeup because of my tan. Because I don’t like to take so long to get ready in the morning, I opt to use these products; MAC CC Prep and Prime Powder in shade Recharge applied with e.l.f.’s Beautifully Bare Blending Brush, tarte’s Maracuja Creaseless Concealer, tarte’s Lights, Camera, Lashes Mascara, and MAC’s Fix+. Thanks to this free makeup bag from smashbox, I don’t worry about my makeup taking up a lot of room.

image

Aside from a full sized wallet, I love keeping essentials in a small pouch that I can easily grab & go. Rather than having to rummage through a receipt-filled, jam packed wallet, the important things I can easily reach for.

image

Lastly, because I’m in New York City, earphones are essential during my commutes. It’s a simple way to help the time pass. I carry pepper spray because it is better to be safe than sorry. You never know what kind of people you will come across in the wrong place at the wrong time! Carrying a portable power bank makes it easy to charge devices on the go. Constantly having to move around doesn’t quite allow to post up at a wall outlet, let’s be real. Gum, because nobody likes bad breath, hand lotion because no one likes dry skin, and dry shampoo to keep those luscious locks fresh!

I hope this inspires you to revisit the necessities you carry, and encourages you to downsize while carrying many things!

xo.

10 thoughts on “Back to School | w h a t s i n m y b a g |

  1. Naomi Rachel says:

    Everything you mentioned are absolute necessities for school. I never thought about mosquito repellent or mouthwash…I’m definitely going to add those to my list right away! I love your blog by the way, I’m following you now 🙂 I hope we can support each other xonaomirachel.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

