My Go-To Nude, Red, & Pink

For all you lipstick lovers out there, like myself, I know you sometimes find yourself in a pickle when you don’t know which one to wear! So I just wanted to share a post of my current “go-to” colors for a nude lip, red, and a pink that are fool-proof

image

Everybody needs a staple nude combination– My Holy Grail nude lipstick is, and always will be, Yves Saint Laurent’s Rouge Volupte No. 3 Ultimate Beige (not pictured). But I’ve decided to put mine to rest for a bit and use MAC’s Matte Lipstick in Velvet Teddy & Dose of Colors’ Poise. Each of these lipsticks on their own are awesome, but I’d prefer to use Poise paired with another lipstick; unlike Velvet Teddy which I reach for on it’s own. The creamy finish of the DoC lippie over top of MAC’s matte lipstick yields a great look with a bit of dimension on the lip. I don’t feel the need to reach for a lip liner, hence it’s really easy to apply! Velvet Teddy retails for $16, & Poise retails for $16 at Ricky’s NYC.

image

In case you haven’t caught on, I am quite a fan of YSL lipsticks.  So it’s no surprise that the midtone pink that I can always count on is the Rouge Volupte Lipstick in No. 9 Caress Pink. Its neutral undertone is flattering on multiple skintones; it has a great balance of cool and warm tones that doesn’t highlight yellow in teeth. The texture is creamy and comfortable to wear, it doesn’t require a lip liner, and its longevity is quite good. The pigmentation of YSL Rouge Volupte lipsticks is phenomenal. In one swipe, it basically cancels out my natural lip color without a primer or liner. This lipstick retails for $36 at multiple stores.

image

I know that there’s been quite a bit of controversy regarding Lime Crime products, but let’s just set that aside for a moment; I just want to acknowledge how good this product is. So until I find an alternative dupe, this will have to suffice. Hope you guys don’t mind! Anyhoo, back to the lipstick. Lime Crime’s Opaque Lipstick in Glamour 101 is a great red staple in my collection. The finish is extremely comfortable, and as its name suggests, it is opaque! It retails for $18 on the Lime Crime website, or at Urban Outfitters online.

image

Pictured are swatches of the aforementioned lipsticks with just one swipe! If you’d like to share your go-to nude, pink, or red combination, leave me a comment down below! I’d love to try them out💋

13 thoughts on “My Go-To Nude, Red, & Pink

      1. uhresuh says:

        That one is nice too! Unfortunately my lips are too pigmented so it basically looks clear on my lips lol. I really liked Damned, which was a deep berry magenta, & Dolce Vita which was kind of mauve and rosy!

        Like

    1. uhresuh says:

      Aww oh no! I hope it works out! At first, I wasn’t a fan, but it grew on me. Maybe try out the Milani Color Statement lipstick instead! The formula is very comfortable but not as thin as YSL (:

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

