My Makeup Bag | n e c e s s i t i e s |

I have the tendency to swap out products from time to time; these are the current ones I carry with me daily.  Some days, I leave my house with a completely bare face. But just to be prepared, I carry these products with me in case I have to make myself a bit more presentable later on in the day.

image

I can never be without a lip balm. It’s imperative to keep your lips moisturized and protect it from damaging exposure to the sun. Lately, I find myself reaching for this Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm in Black Tea & Blackberry. You can purchase this online or at some department stores like Macy’s, Bloomingdales, and Nordstrom for around $7.50.

image

Just a few days ago, I purchased the Urban Decay Naked concealer in shade Medium Dark. I always keep one on hand to spot conceal, minimize darkness and signs of fatigue. This provides just enough coverage without accentuating fine lines, and Urban Decay offers a decent variety of undertones for this concealer. It is available at many retailers including Sephora & Macy’s for approximately $28.
image

Among the many products e.l.f. has released is this Beautifully Bare Blending Brush. As aforementioned in my June Favorites post, this brush is multipurpose, hence, why I prefer keeping it in my makeup bag. It is a short handle brush with extremely soft synthetic bristles that retails for $6 on the e.l.f. website or in store. The texture is very similar to that of Real Techniques Brushes, it is a great balance of fluffy and dense which applies powder products very well.

image

For someone who often produces a lot of oil on her nose, I opt to keep a blotting powder in my bag. One of my Holy Grail powders is the Urban Decay De-Slick Mattifying Powder. The packaging seen here is the old design (I stocked up on a few when the UD website had a sale!), but it is still sold in a transparent, deep purple compact. Although I have a medium complexion, I do not usually have any issues with white cast from the powder.

image

To put some life into my cheeks, I carry a neutral tone blush. Using the same powder brush that I use to apply my blotting powder, I will put a bit of NYX Matte Blush in shade Amber a bit toward my ears, just outside of the apple of my cheeks… mostly because the shape of my face doesn’t allow blush on the apples of my cheeks to be flattering. Its cost ranges between $4-6 depending where it is purchased.

image

Thankfully this Kevyn Aucoin Creamy Glow Duo is small and compact.  It kills two birds with one stone, housing a medium contour shade & the popularly known, candlelight highlight. Candlelight, in all forms, cream, powder, and liquid, are hands-down, my ultimate favorite highlighting product.  It provides just enough of a healthy glow to my face, and yet is quite buildable for more dimension. It can be purchased at, but not limited to, Bloomingdales or online at Sephora.com for $28.

image

The goal is to look alive! As one of the birthday giveaways from Sephora, Make Up For Ever combined a neutral pink lipstick and this miniature Smoky Extravagant mascara. Applying mascara to upper and lower lashes opens up the look of your eyes instantaneously.

image

MAC’s Fix+ is great for setting your makeup & refreshing your skin.  This mini bottle is sold only at MAC stores, and not all MAC counters within department stores for circa $10. I’d buy the full size bottle which contains just over three times the amount as this travel size for only twice the price; so I suggest refilling this travel sized bottle at home.

image

What is a makeup bag without lip stick!? NOTHING. The current lipstick that I carry is MAC’s Lipstick in the shade Spirit. It is a satin finish lipstick that is a no-brainer to apply. It doesn’t require a lip liner because the color does not bleed on the edges of your lips. The color is very similar to the matte lipstick from MAC in the shade Velvet Teddy. I find that on my lips, Spirit appears a hair more cool toned than Velvet Teddy; this shade goes with any natural to bold look. Priced at $16 at MAC retailers. **this shade is a part of MAC’s permanent collection.

image

One of my biggest pet peeves is foul smell. As much as I love being outside and being active, I’m more at ease when I know that I have a fragrance with me.  A few months ago, I got this Travalo from the Container Store for $12, making it convenient to carry perfume with me.  Often times, I have the roller ball or travel size of my perfumes, but there are some fragrances that I own full size bottles, and no matching travel size. The scent currently in my Travalo is Marc Jacobs Daisy Delight Perfume that was released last spring.

Not fully pictured is the makeup bag that I’m currently using; a gift from my sister, a hot pink Michael Kors leather cosmetics pouch.

6 thoughts on “My Makeup Bag | n e c e s s i t i e s |

Leave a Reply

